Parish’ Name:

  • Sacred Heart, Boggabri

School established: 

  • 1911 (Church and school shared building until 1918)

Principals and enrolled number of students:

YearPrincipalFeb EnrolmentAug EnrolmentOct Enrolment
1911-1984Srs of St Joseph   
1981Pam Smith   
 Terry Gimpel   
 John Power   
1987-1989Kevin Humphries   
1990-1993David Casey   
1994-1996Greg Quill   
1998- 2000 Chris Sheridan   
2001Rick McEvoy (Acting Principal)   
2002 – 2004 Paul Ryan 54 – Aug 2003  
2005 –Rick McEvoy

61 – Feb 2005

33-  Feb 2008

34-  Feb 2009

43 – Aug 2006 

35 –  Aug  2007


History of School

Sacred Heart School was founded by the Sisters of St Joseph in 1911. The Sisters of St Joseph were founded by the Blessed Mary MacKillop, who died in 1909, so possibly the creation of a convent and school at Boggabri were amongst her last decisions.

Until 1918, the Sisters conducted School in the church. Fr Daniel Keane was made Parish Priest of Gunnedah in 1918 and in that year he built a new school, which occupied the site of the present school building. In 1965 a new brick building was opened and blessed by Bishop E J Doody. The administration building was added in 1985 and blessed by Bishop H J Kennedy.

The Sisters of St Joseph were in charge of the school until 1980 and continued to teach until 1984 with Sr Roseanne being the last Sister to teach at the school.

The first lay Principal was Pam Smith (1981).

Our Network